Obligatory Obama post #3

On a story posted by the Star Bulletin: Obama recalls hoop dreams 

An avid basketball player even on the campaign trail, Obama was a member of Punahou’s championship high school basketball team in 1979.

He said his strength then wasn’t his jump shot, but getting around defenders. “My actual talent was in my first step,” he said. “I could get to the rim on anybody.”

What would a scouting report say about his skills today?

“Well, I have held up reasonably well as a 46-year-old,” Obama said. “So, I’m still reasonably quick for my age. I would say my peers would have trouble guarding me tight outside. I’d go by them.”

…  [more below the fold]

Asked if he would like to play President Bush in a game of one-on-one, Obama expressed confidence in beating the president.

“You know, he looks like a pretty good athlete, he takes that mountain biking seriously,” he said. “But I’m pretty certain I can take him.”

Well… it appears Mr. Obama is no longer by his peers as reported earlier.  But, then, I guess, he’s no longer an 11 year old 5th grader.

Oh, and the real Hoop Dreams?  If you haven’t seen it, you should.  It is a pretty powerful movie.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

