What the heck am I getting into?

Hiya, Steven Lee here again.

Regular users might notice that the site’s look has changed. With the winter months approaching, I get home just as the sun is setting, so I wanted to brighten things up. I’ve also turned on the comments section. This means that you don’t have to create an account to leave a comment. We’ll see how that works out. Hopefully, some of you will leave some comments.

First, I’ll send my prayers out to those of our classmates who had to evacuate during the recent San Diego/Los Angles wild fires. I hope you and your families are safe.

Anyway, back to happier thoughts. I thought I’d start writing about what luau is all about so you guys have an idea of what happens at luau. I’ll start with the Saturday morning of Luau.

Starting at about 7:30 AM at the cafeteria, we’ll have a team of volunteers preparing the food. This means putting poi, lomi salmon, and poke into small plastic serving cups. We might have to help cut the haupia and cake, so we might need you to bring a knife and cutting board. There’ll be plenty of time to chat and catch up with each other as the work is not that hard. We just need to be neat and precise. Meaning, don’t spill. And make sure that we get the portion sizes right.

At the same time, our decorations crew will be down on lower field in the tent putting up the final touches on the decorations. Final touches? Yep. The decoration of the tent actually starts on Friday. More on that in another post. But, in any case, just as with food prep, there’s quite a bit of socializing and joking around.

The imu pit crew will probably start a bit later (mostly because they’ve been at the imu all day and all night on Friday), probably around 9 AM or so. They have their own agenda, but the general idea is to start to uncover the imu pit and start getting the pig ready to serve. This is a bit harder work, but in the end, I found that the work at the imu pit was very rewarding.

Around 10 AM, we’ll have a breakfast/brunch break. Then, back to work.

I’ll stop here as this post is probably getting a bit long. As usual, you can contact me at 808-780-6240 or steve (at) 315alani (dot) net.

Oh yeah, I promised a picture of our t-shirts. Hmmm…I don’t have one yet. But I know this blog is getting a bit sparse, so how about a photo that I took in Bergen Norway this summer?

Bergen lilypad

About punahou84

Punahou Class of 1984 Website
This entry was posted in Volunteer info. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What the heck am I getting into?

  1. patti o says:

    oooh! i like the new look of the sight! great job steve! our master blogger!
    aloha,
    patti o

Leave a Reply

